An emergency committee recently convened by the World Health Organization (WHO) called the outbreak “a serious public health event,” but not a “public health emergency of international concern” (PHEIC), because the spread of the disease has slowed and vaccine supplies are recovering.

In Botswana, a Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is only required for travellers coming from – or in transit through an airport of – a country with a risk of Yellow Fever transmission.  Such a risk of Yellow Fever transmission exists in the following countries:

AFRICA – Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Togo, Uganda.

AMERICAS – Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.

Botswana recognizes that the Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is valid for 10 years, starting 10 days after vaccination.

Note: If your medical practitioner has advised you against the Yellow Fever vaccine for medical reasons, a vaccination waiver should be issued. Be aware that problems may arise when crossing borders and your vaccination waiver may not be honoured.

Read More
Yellow Fever