Ministry of Tourism is to establish five regional tourism councils in January next year as part of the Tourism Recovery Strategy.

Tourism Cabinet Secretary Najib Balala says the five tourism council blocs that include in Rift Valley, the Lake Region, the Northern Region, Nairobi and the Coast will partner with the Kenya Tourism Board in promotion and marketing of the country’s vast tourist attractions.

The move is expected to spur product diversification and intensify marketing of Kenya as an ideal tourist destination.

The councils are to partner with Kenya Tourism Board in the promotion and marketing of the country’s vast tourist attractions.

Balala says this is part of the Tourism Recovery Strategy, whose implementation has seen tourist arrivals increase by 20%.

Balala further urged stakeholders to embrace technology and increase investments in digital marketing, in order to carve a niche as well as cut marketing costs.

This follows the launch of the Kilifi County Online tourism platform whose objective is to reduce advertising costs as well as creating a global footprint for the counties myriad tourist attractions and facilities.

Plans are at an advanced stage to roll out a digital marketing strategy that will see active use of the websites and social media to reach to the world instead of traveling.

Read More from KBC