Tanzania has been voted as Africa’s leading travel destination ahead of South Africa, Nigeria, Rwanda and other countries of the continent.

Tanzania was voted Africa’s leading destination in the 2021 World Travel Awards (WTA).

World Travel Awards is the travel industry’s most prestigious awards programme, rewarding leaders in the tourism, airline, hotel and hospitality sectors.

World Travel Awards gala ceremonies are regarded as milestone events in the travel calendar, attended by the industry’s key decision-makers, figureheads, influencers and media. The programme, its winners and its sponsors are represented globally on social media, with fresh daily content across multiple platforms.

“World Travel Award celebrates its 28th anniversary year in 2021. Its annual programme is renowned as the most prestigious and comprehensive in the global industry. Each year World Travel Awards covers the globe with its Grand Tour – a series of regional gala ceremonies to recognise excellence within each continent, culminating in a Grand Final at the end of the year,” a statement on its website said.

The WTA received nominations of different countries on different categories on the global scale. In Africa, a host countries were nominated for leading travel destination category, Tanzania, however, won the award. Here are the nominated countries;

  • Botswana
  • Egypt
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • South Africa
  • Uganda
  • Zambia