North of Mount Kenya and Laikipia, the Samburu ecosystem is comprised of Samburu National Reserve, Shaba National Reserve, Buffalo Springs Reserve, Kalama Conservancy, West Gate Community Area and Nakupurat-Gotu Conservancy.

A rugged and semi-desert savannah intersected by the Ewaso Nyiro River, the area has an abundance of wildlife including Nile crocodile, cheetah, leopard, lion, elephant, buffalo and hippo as well the rare species of long necked gerenuk, Grevy’s zebra, reticulated giraffe and Beisa oryx.

The ecosystem’s remote location provides an untouched and unspoiled wilderness of open savannah, volcanic rocks, sacred mountains and the Ewaso Nyiro River lined with an oasis of vegetation attracting over 350 species of bird including vulture, kingfisher, guinea fowl and Somali ostrich.